Home > Commentary > Ice Ho’s

Ice Ho’s


LA Kings Ice Crew Girls

Photo: Noah Graham/NHLI via Getty Images

During an intense game last season between the Los Angeles Kings and the San Jose Sharks, my aunt Bethanie and I, who were at Staples Center that night, watched the game virtually on the edge of our seats. The score was 2-1 in favor of L.A. and it was about midway through the second period. But don’t let that 1 goal lead fool you. Sometimes in sports, the score on the board doesn’t always tell you the whole story. There were fierce battles going out on the ice. The hitting was hard and the checks were merciless. The fight for control of the puck was ferocious. Back and fourth it went. You could tell both teams wanted to win and were willing to do almost anything to make that happen. “Two men enter, one man leave!” This was truly north/south hockey at its finest. The flow of the game was running hot and everyone was anxious to see how the rest of the game was going to turn out.

That’s when the interruptions started.

From this point until the end of the second period, there were a lot of stoppages in play. Offsides was called. Icing was called. Penalties were called. Pucks were being deflected into the stands left and right. The tempo of the game had slowed down enormously and that was pissing off a lot of fans, my aunt included. Then, the real trouble began. A televison time out was called. My aunt went from an anxious fan to a seething demon. Once the t.v. time out was called, the L.A. Ice Crew skated onto the ice. The Ice Crew’s responsibility during a game is to clean up the ice shavings that build up on the ice as the result of play. The Ice Crew is dispatched periodically throughout the game to clean up the ice and then hop off the ice so play can resume.

“Oh, here come the ice ho’s (short for ice hookers) again” my aunt said, rolling her eyes in disgust. She kept going on and on about wanting to watch the game and how the Ice Crew girls were just there for men to ogle at. “Uh-uh” I said not paying much attention to her as I leaned over the seat in front of me, trying to get a better look. “It’s really insulting to you guys” she said. “You guys are just led around by your penises.” I remember laughing pretty hard when she said that. “I have no idea what you are talking about,” I responded.

As of my last Kings game (when I was at the Staples Center vs. the Devils on 10/25) I am now the proud owner of a 2012 Ice Crew Calendar. Of course both my aunt AND my wife rolled their eyes at me when I told them this. What could I possibly say to defend this purchase other than I like looking a scantily clad girls in bikini’s? “But..but honey, I’m helping to support my Kings!” No, THAT won’t work. How about “but.. but honey,….the girls are so…hot!!” WOW, did I really just say that?!

I know!! I’ll use the charity defense. Yeah…thats it!

100% of the proceeds from the sale of the Ice Crew Calendar go to the Kings Care Foundation. The Kings Care Foundation is a non-profit children’s foundation dedicated to providing children in the Greater Los Angeles area with education and recreational opportunities. Since 1996, The Kings Care Foundation has provided $3.5 million in monetary support (in-kind) for the local community including a $250,000 pledge to the Neil Bogart Memorial fund. The Neil Bogart Memorial fund is a non-profit organization that funds research at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles to find a cure for pediatric cancer, leukemia and AIDS. “You see honey, it really is for the kids!” Any objection to buying this calendar is like saying “I hate rainbows!” Or “I hate puppies!” And that’s just wrong.

That reasoning really didn’t work either, but when I added the part about trying to cure cancer, leukemia and AIDS, I could tell I softened them up a bit. So whether we’re watching the game at home or live at the Staples Center, it is almost mandatory that whenever the Ice Crew skates out onto the ice that one of us scream “Ice Ho’s!!”

Oh yeah, and the Kings won 4-3 in a 5 round shoot out.

Categories: Commentary Tags: , ,
  1. November 3, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I say if it’s for charity then it’s all good fun — the calendar I mean. I guess attractive young women skating around in skimpy clothes is better than watching some old, overweight guy’s butt crack fly around after ice shavings. Well, then again…..

  2. November 3, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Girls, skimpy clothes, cold stadium? Yeah, absolute recipe for a disaster (he says as he glances over chicagoj1’s shoulder to peek at this calendar…)

    😛

  3. Lauren
    November 7, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    My cousin is a kings ice girl! =)

    • chicagoj1
      November 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      Anyway to get an autographed photo or picture? I’ve been trying to get one, you know, for the blog……. : – )

      • November 7, 2011 at 1:06 pm

        Oh, here we go…lol

      • Lauren
        November 7, 2011 at 2:54 pm

        Im sure I can work something out. If u have the new calandar my cousin is brooke…..ill ask her when she gets her glossys.

  4. chicagoj1
    November 7, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    That would be really cool! Please let me know if and when they are available and we can make further arrangements. Thank you for your support on our blog!

    – Justin

  5. mrwright
    November 21, 2011 at 8:43 am

    If you go by Bailey’s Buddys (behind section 117 at Staples), the girls are there between periods selling and signing calenders.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

