Home > Commentary > Sid the Kid

Sid the Kid


Sidney Crosby shoots and scores his first goal against Anders Nilsson. Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

What can I say about Sidney Patrick Crosby a.k.a. “Sid the Kid,” that isn’t already being talked about on Facebook, Twitter and every sports and blog site on the internet? You love him, you hate him, but there he is. After 10 1/2 months of recovering from a severe concussion, Sid the Kid is back. Scoring two goals and two assists, there is no question that Crosby felt he had something to prove in last night’s 5-0 win over the New York Islanders. Crosby scored on his very first shot on goal at 5:24 of the first period. Crosby skated off to a corner of the ice and let out a loud scream. The roof of the Consul Energy Center almost burst into flames shortly thereafter. With a standing room only crowd of 18,571, it’s easy to see why. The crowd started chanting “Crosby, Crosby, Crosby!” “The atmosphere was very electric,” goalie Marc-Andre Fleury said. “It was loud and fun. Sid had a goal early on, so you couldn’t have written it any better.”

Indeed. With so much pressure on Crosby and with so many people wondering how he would perform, with so many questions, Crosby seemed to put all of those questions to rest. Crosby answered them all and in a big way. “As the game went on, I felt better and better,” Crosby said. “It was amazing. It was far beyond anything I expected. It was amazing, it was special.”

I’m happy that Crosby had a stellar return. But here is my problem, I’m sick of hearing about him. For 10 months now, a large part of the hockey community has talked, blogged, commented on, nothing more than Sidney Crosby. “When will he return?” “How is he progressing?” “Have there been any set backs?” “When is he coming back?!” And on and on and on and on…….

I thought the answers to those questions were much worse than the actual questions thesmselves. I was amazed at how not only Crosby but the Pittsburgh Penguins came up with a 1,001 (more like a 1,000,001) original ways to say the same thing. Here is a sample of what I won’t have to listen to any more:

“There is no timetable for his return” (insert scream here). “The only update we have is, that there is no update.”  “Gee, it’s really up to my doctors when I will come back” (gouge my own eyes out with the nearest sharp object, here). “He will not return until he is 100 percent” (I want to die!!!!). “I’d love to have answers sometimes.” “It’s frustrating, disappointing. But can’t really control any of that” (spontaneously combust here).

10 1/2 months of this folks. Almost every day. Does the reader get a better sense of why I’m tired of hearing about Sidney Crosby?! I’m done discussing him and I’m not the only one. On October 12, 2011, VERSUS analyst and commentator Jeremy Roenick had this to say about Crosby:

Just don’t interview him anymore. I know he’s the best player in the league, the best player in the world,” Roenick said. “Head shots are very, very difficult. I’m not saying he’s not hurt. There’s no question. I’ve been hit very, very hard. I understand what concussions are all about. You have to be very concerned about this. But enough.” “Get on the ice, let’s get going. … let’s start hitting. Let’s get back in,” Roenick said. “I don’t wanna hear every day ‘How’s your head? How’s your head? How’s your head?’ I don’t wanna watch Sidney Crosby tell me every single day how there’s nothing new to report. Enough already.”

I take solace in the fact that I’m not the only one who felt this way. Roenick took some flak for this comment, but for the life of me I can’t figure out why? Roenick acknowledged the Crosby is the best player in the league and that concussions are serious.  Roenick was just tired of hearing the same response day in day out. Why is verbalizing this such a crime? I know some consider Crosby the second coming of Gretzky, but even fans of Crosby were sick of the repetition.

I don’t have anything against Sidney Crosby. If anything, I am rather indifferent. But as a hockey fan, it just got to be too much. I undertand the Pittsburgh press has a job to do and if I was a member of the press I would be doing the exact same thing. Asking for constant updates, trying to get interviews from Crosby and Pittsburgh Penguins head coach Dan Bylsma. But again, in the end, it was just too much for me. This has left a sour taste in my mouth and I don’t think I’ll be talking about Crosby again any time soon.

Now that Crosby’s first game is out of the way, I expect things will calm down to at least some degree of reasonable sanity. Then again, I could be wrong. There is still plenty of hockey left (60 games) to be played and more than enough time to see if Crosby will soar or falter. Personally, I think Crosby has a target on his back. People will be looking to check him and check him hard. If Crosby can stay healthy however, I think he is poised for a great season. Which is not good news for me since my aunt has Sidney Crosby on her fantasy hockey team! Sigh.

“Ovechkin!!!!!”

– Sidney Crosby

  1. jj wilson
    November 22, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Sidney crosby like it or not, is right now still the face of the nhl. Leading up to his injury, he was tearing up the nhl scoring lead. Considering his popularity in canada let alone in the states, like it or not, crosby is good for the sport. I was also taken back by the amount of media coverage while he was away. But like you said, they were doing their job. The former nfl player now commentator JR was not applauded on his comments of crosby. He like the media was using the story to stir up more. Its just like I. News media, if someone jump off a bridge and commits suicide and is a normal joe, doesn’t make the back page of the newspaper, but let a movie or rock star make the leap, TMZ will have a field day, like all the hard copy type media. So in other words, I agree it was extreame, but not suprising, its the face, and is a much need story for the nhl.

  2. November 22, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Crosby is the best player in the world and he just proved it last night. Read all the comments by players on teams all around the league. Even they were glued to their TVs. Get used to the coverage cuz he’s back and in a big way. His health will be an issue for many games to come right up until the last game of the season when he wins the Art Ross. Just chant like everyone was doing at the rockin consol….Crosby…Crosby…Crosby.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

